S/ Was There: CAFA Reveals 2019 Nominees

With the 2019 Canadian Arts and Fashion Awards (CAFA) quickly approaching, the nominees and honourees for its sixth annual awards gala were announced today at a private breakfast held at Artscape Daniels Launchpad in Toronto. The awards gala will take place on May 30th at the Fairmont Royal York to recognize and celebrate the emerging talents in Canadian arts and fashion. In addition to the 15 categories, there are also two new categories this year recognizing hair and makeup artists. The CAFA co-founders took to the stage to proudly announce this year’s nominees:

The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award
Ellie Mae Studios
Greta Constantine
Sid Neigum

The Menswear Designer of the Year Award
Christopher Bates
Frank And Oak
Raised by Wolves
18 Waits

The Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, Fashion
École de Pensée
Kathryn Bowen
Marie-Ève Lecavalier
Andrew Coimbra

The Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, Accessories
Corey Moranis
Warren Steven Scott
Angela Mitchell
Jessica Bedard
JY Gao

The Accessory Designer of the Year Award
Dean Davidson
Matt & Nat

The Outerwear Brand of the Year Award
Moose Knuckles

The Joe Fresh Fashion Innovation Award
Focals by North

The Simons Fashion Design Student Award
Cynthia Leung
Marie-Eve Aubry
Marysol Kim
Meron Kebebe
Justine Woods

The Image Maker of the Year Award
Carlyle Routh
D. Picard
Greg Swales
Max Abadian
Owen Bruce

The Stylist of the Year Award 
Cary Tauben
Corey Ng
Juliana Schiavinatto
Nadia Pizzimenti
Randy Smith

The Fresh Face of the Year Award
Alyssah Paccoud
Cami You-Ten
Krow Kian
Mathieu Simoneau
Sara Kemper

The Model of the Year Award
Hannah Donker
Judith Maria Bradley
Mae Lapres
Rachel Roberts
Tasha Tilberg

The Fashion Impact Award
With Love Darling
Ron White Shoes
Sarah Jay
Brave Soles
Matt & Nat
Wuxly Movement

The Digital Fashion Influencer of the Year Award
Fecal Matter
Grece Ghanem
Julia Mateian
Kayla Seah
Dani Roche

The H&M Sustainability Award
Eliza Faulkner
Frank And Oak

New: Makeup Artist of the Year Award
Grace Lee
Hung Vanngo
Leslie-Ann Thomson
Nicolas Blanchet
Simone Otis

New: Hair Artist of the Year Award
Andrew Ly
David D’Amours
Harry Josh
Kirsten Klontz
Matthew Collins

Tickets to the 2019 gala and after-party will be available for purchase at CAFAwards.ca.